New Resident

Incorporated December 13, 1969, the City operates under a Council/Aldermanic form of government. The Mayor, City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected at large from the entire City. Aldermen are elected from seven Aldermanic wards to serve four year terms. A professional Administrator sees to the day-to-day City operations and is appointed by the Mayor and the City Council. Workshop sessions and City Council meetings are held on the first and third Monday of each month in the Council Chambers at City Hall, commencing at 7:00pm and 7:30pm respectively. The public is invited and encouraged to attend the meetings and to take an active part in the process.

The City is designed and will continue to grow as a planned community with a balance of private and multiple residential building, while also striving to provide convenient shopping areas. The City has commercial and light research type industry needed in the proper areas to keep our tax base as broad as possible. We are proud to be in some of the best school districts to be found within the State of Illinois. We also have a vibrant Darien Park District and the Indian Prairie Library District.

Printer Friendly Welcome Brochure

Other Information

Below is a list of links to other pages in our website that we think you will find helpful.

City Directory
City Officials
Community Development
Fire Protection District
Post Office
State and County Elected Officials
Water and Sewer Information